Pay Disparity

#FairTrooperPayToday

Your Arizona State Troopers need your help… They’re facing an enormous pay disparity problem that’s been growing for many years with no end in sight… Now they are paying a heavy price. Each year our state government promises to address the issue and each year it gets worse… This hurts the Troopers while the cost to fix the problem simply continues to get larger and harder to swallow. It affects every part of the agency from morale to recruitment and retainment. It keeps them from attracting and holding onto the best people… Possible recruits choose to join other agencies and Troopers leave early in their careers for better pay elsewhere… In the end, this affects you and the quality of the service they provide.

We Need Your Help…

We need your help to convince your state government that now is the time to fix this problem before it gets even worse. As the pay gap increases each year, the solution gets more and more expensive and out of reach and the situation for the troopers gets worse. We have the funding to fix this, let’s do it the right way and keep this from happening again.

A Vision For The Future

It’s been more than several years now your state troopers and DPS employees have been waiting for the pay raises they’ve been promised. Though new solutions are suggested and some have even been implemented, they all end up being half measures that don’t fix the problem or sometimes make it even worse. Our goal is to educate everyone about what the real problems are and to work together to fix them the right way so they don’t cause undue pressure on state budgets and fixes the issues once and for all so they don’t happen again. We don’t want to keep kicking the can down the road for another year and make the problems worse than they already are. Each time we do this, the problems just get larger and harder to solve efficiently.

Our Purpose

What We Face

FY 2019 shows that sworn Trooper salaries lagged behind other Arizona law enforcement agencies by over 15% and their professional staff by almost 18%…

Of the over 42 Arizona agencies surveyed, only seven (12) had equivalent salaries less than the Department of Public Safety… Your Troopers simply can’t compete with those numbers and the facts show it. 

The Issues

Morale

All of your DPS employees are very proud of the job they do. Their main concern is providing the people of Arizona with the best services they possibly can. It is their honor to be a part of this agency and its proud history, but the pay gap has put a serious dent in their morale. Each year that the pay gap with other agencies gets larger, it gets harder and harder to maintain their morale and more difficult to retain & recruit personnel.

Recruitment and Retainment

In FY 2019 alone there were 185 separations from the Department of Public Safety including retirements and almost 86.5% were ‘regrettable attrition’. This means they were people they didn’t want to lose…

If you break it down, the sworn regrettable attrition rate was almost 86.7% and the professional staff rate was almost 86.3%.

Irrecoverable Costs

When a trooper or professional staff employee leaves the department as ‘regrettable attrition’ all of the costs associated with training that person are lost and irrecoverable. Additionally, a new person must be hired and trained to replace that person and the department loses all of the experience the previous employee earned over those years. It is a losing battle that has a major negative affect on overall morale.

Under Staffing

Under staffing is a problem. When you have a tough time recruiting people and keeping them, you have personnel shortages. These shortages become harder to fill when pay affects recruiting new people. These shortages last longer over time and eventually cause the department to make adjustments to coverage and service levels. This is never good and until the pay gap is resolved it will never get better. As a real world example, DPS is considering closing the entire dispatch center for Northern Arizona (Northern OpsComm) by attrition over time because they having such a difficult time replacing and recruiting new personnel for those positions. One of the main reasons is pay doesn’t reflect the cost of living for people in that area. This is a serious problem. It will affect the service levels in that area.

Contribute to Our Campaign

We need your help educating people about the issues we face and letting your legislators know that you support the troopers.

You can use the tools on this page to contact your representatives in state government and let them know that you want us to work together to solve this problem.

You can also contribute financially to our campaign in two different ways. First, you can donate to the campaign directly and help us pay for advertisements on different media, educational materials, and other campaign resources. You can also purchase some of our memorabilia and not only fund our efforts but show your support, help us educate people, and spread the word about the issues we face.

About #FairTrooperPayToday

our Arizona State Troopers need your help. They’re facing an enormous pay disparity problem that’s been growing for many years with no end in sight. Now they are paying a heavy price. Each year our state government promises to address the issue and each year it gets worse. This hurts the Troopers while the cost to fix the problem simply continues to get larger and harder to swallow. It affects every part of the agency from morale to recruitment and retainment. It keeps them from attracting and holding onto the best
people. Possible recruits choose to join other agencies and Troopers leave early in their careers for better pay elsewhere. In the end, this affects you and the quality of the service they provide. FY 2019 shows that sworn Trooper salaries lagged behind other Arizona law enforcement agencies by over 15% and their professional staff by almost 18%.

Of the over 42 Arizona agencies surveyed, only twelve (12) had equivalent salaries less than the Department of Public Safety. Your Troopers simply can’t compete with those numbers and the facts show it. In FY 2019 alone, there were 185 separations from the Department of Public Safety including retirements and almost 86.5% were ‘regrettable attrition’. This  means they were people they didn’t want to lose. If you break it down, the sworn regrettable attrition rate was almost 86.7% and the professional staff rate was almost 86.3%. Stop gaps and half measures have gotten us to this point. It’s time we fixed this problem once and for all and it’s imperative we do it right this time.

We can’t just keep kicking the can down the road for others to solve later. The stakes are just too high.

Ready to take the next step and support the troopers?

What can I do?

Our biggest need is making our state government understand that you care about the troopers and you want them to work with us to solve this problem now and make sure it doesn’t happen again. We’ve included a list of contact information for your state representatives so you can call, write a letter, or email them and tell them you support the troopers and you want to fix the tremendous pay gap that exists and make sure this problem doesn’t occur again. You can donate to our campaign using the donation buttons if you wish. You can also purchase any of our merchandise and show your support for a pay disparity fix and educate others as to the issues we face.

Use the chart below to locate your legislative district and identify your representatives. If you don’t know your legislative district, click here to go to the district locator page and type in your address to find it, then use the chart below.

Make a Call…

You can use the phone numbers listed below to call your representative and tell them you support the troopers and would like us to work together to solve this problem and do it right this time so this doesn’t happen again. We’ve recommended a solution that includes a very fair increase so as to not break the budget and small cost of living adjustment each year to make sure this never happens again. We need your help to get this solution passed during this legislative session. As a voter in their district, your opinion matters and making it heard is important to both of us. Let’s solve #FairTrooperPayToday together… 

 

Representative Phone Representative Phone State Senator Phone
1 David Stringer 602-926-4838 Noel Campbell 602-926-3124 Karen Fann 602-926-5874/5300
2 Rosanna Gabaldon 602-926-3424 Daniel Hernandez Jr. 602-926-4840 Andrea Dalessandro 602-926-5342
3 Sally Ann Gonzales 602-926-3278 Alma Hernandez 602-926-3176 Sally Ann Gonzales 602-926-3278
4 Charlene Fernandez 602-926-3098 Geraldine Peten 602-926-4842 Lisa Otondo 602-926-3002
5 Leo Biasiucci 602-926-3018 Regina Cobb 602-926-3126 Sonny Borrelli 602-926-5051
6 Walter Blackman 602-926-3043 Bob Thorpe 602-926-5219 Sylvia Allen 602-926-5409
7 Arlando Teller 602-926-3069 Myron Tsosie 602-926-3157 Jamescita Peshlakai 602-926-5160
8 TJ Shope 602-926-3012 David Cook 602-926-5162 Frank Pratt 602-926-5761
9 Pamela Powers Hannley 602-926-4848 Randall Friese 602-926-3138 Victoria Steele 602-926-5683
10 Kristen Engel 602-926-5178 Domingo De Grazia 602-926-5153 David Bradley 602-926-5262
11 Mark Finchem 602-926-3122 Vince Leach 602-926-3106 Vince Leach 602-926-3106
12 Warren Petersen 602-926-4136 Travis Grantham 602-926-4868 Eddie Farnsworth 602-926-5735
13 Timothy Dunn 602-926-4139 Joanne Osborne 602-926-3181 Sine Kerr 602-926-5955
14 Becky Nutt 602-926-4852 Gail Griffin 602-926-5895 David Gowan 602-926-5154
15 John Allen 602-926-4916 Nancy Barto 602-926-5766 Heather Carter 602-926-5503
16 John Fillmore 602-926-3187 Kelly Townsend 602-926-4467 David Farnsworth 602-926-3020
17 Jeff Weninger 602-926-3092 Jennifer Pawlik 602-926-3193 J.D. Mesnard 602-926-4481
18 Jennifer Jermaine 602-926-3199 Mitzi Epstein 602-926-4870 Sean Bowie 602-926-3004
19 Diego Espinoza 602-926-3134 Lorenzo Sierra 602-926-3211 Lupe Contreras 602-926-5284
20 Shawnna Bolick 602-926-3244 Anthony Kern 602-926-3102 Paul Boyer 602-926-4173
21 Tony Rivero 602-926-3104 Kevin Payne 602-926-4854 Rick Gray 602-926-5413
22 Frank Carroll 602-926-3249 Ben Toma 602-926-3298 David Livingston 602-9264178
23 Jay Lawrence 602-926-3095 John Kavanagh 602-926-5170 Michelle Ugenti-Rita 602-926-4480
24 Amish Shah 602-926-3280 Jennifer Longdon 602-926-3300 Lela Alston 602-926-5829
25 Michelle Udall 602-926-4856 Rusty Bowers 602-926-3128 Tyler Pace 602-926-5760
26 Isela Blanc 602-926-5187 Athena Salman 602-926-4858 Juan Mendez 602-926-4124
27 Reginald Bolding 602-926-3132 Diego Rodriguez 602-926-3285 Rebecca Rios 602-926-3073
28 Aaron Lieberman 602-926-3300 Kelli Butler 602-926-5156 Kate Brophy Mgee 602-926-4486
29 Richard Andrade 602-926-3130 Cesar Chavez 602-926-4862 Martin Quezada 602-926-5911
30 Raquel Teran 602-926-3308 Robert Meza 602-926-3425 Otoniel Navarrete 602-926-4864
Use the chart below to locate your legislative district and identify your representatives. If you don’t know your legislative district, click here to go to the district locator page and type in your address to find it, then use the chart below.

Send an email…

You can click on the email address for each of your representatives to launch an email window where you can tell them that you support the troopers and that you want us to work together to solve the pay gap problem and do it right this time so that it doesn’t happen again. We’ve recommended a solution that includes a very fair increase so as to not break the budget and small cost of living adjustment each year to make sure this never happens again. We need your help to get this solution passed during this legislative session.

We’ve included some boilerplate text below to include if you’d like to use it. Simply use your mouse to copy it to your clipboard and then click on the email(s) of your representatives one by one and paste into each email.

Sample email text:

I would like to express my steadfast support for the Arizona State Troopers and the Department of Public Safety in their desire to solve the pay disparity issues they currently face and I ask that you work together with them to insure that this issue is resolved correctly this time so that it doesn’t happen again. They’ve recommended a solution that includes a very fair increase so as to not break the budget and a small cost of living adjustment each year to make sure this never happens again. I would very much like your help to get this solution passed during this legislative session. As a voter in your district this issue is important to me. Thank you for your help in resolving this very serious problem. Let’s solve #FairTrooperPayToday together…

District Rep Email Rep Email Senator Email
1 dstringer@azleg.gov ncampbell@azleg.gov kfann@azleg.gov
2 rgabaldon@azleg.gov dhernandez@azleg.gov adalessandro@azleg.gov
3 sgonzales@azleg.gov ahernandez@azleg.gov sgonzales@azleg.gov
4 cfernandez@azleg.gov gpeten@azleg.gov lotondo@azleg.gov
5 lbiasiucci@azleg.gov rcobb@azleg.gov sborrelli@azleg.gov
6 wblackman@azleg.gov bthorpe@azleg.gov sallen@azleg.gov
7 ateller@azleg.gov mtsosie@azleg.gov jpehlakai@azleg.gov
8 tshope@azleg.gov dcook@azleg.gov fpratt@azleg.gov
9 ppowershannley@azleg.gov rfriese@azleg.gov vsteele@azleg.gov
10 kengel@azleg.gov ddegrazia@azleg.gov dbradley@azleg.gov
11 mfinchem@azleg.gov vleach@azleg.gov vleach@azleg.gov
12 wpertersen@azleg.gov tgrantham@azleg.gov efarnsworth@azleg.gov
13 tdunn@azleg.gov josborne@azleg.gov skerr@azleg.gov
14 bnutt@azleg.gov ggriffin@azleg.gov dgowan@azleg.gov
15 jallen@azleg.gov nbarto@azleg.gov hcarter@azleg.gov
16 jfillmore@azleg.gov ktownsend@azleg.gov dfarnsworth@azleg.gov
17 jweninger@azleg.gov jpawlik@azleg.gov jmesnard@azleg.gov
18 jjermaine@azleg.gov mepstein@azleg.gov sbowie@azleg.gov
19 despinoza@azleg.gov lsierra@azleg.gov lcontreras@azleg.gov
20 sbolick@azleg.gov akern@azleg.gov pboyer@azleg.gov
21 trivero@azleg.gov kpayne@azleg.gov rgrau@azleg.gov
22 fcarroll@azleg.gov btoma@azleg.gov dlivingston@azleg.gov
23 jlawrence@azleg.gov jkavanagh@azleg.gov mugenti-rita@azleg.gov
24 ashah@azleg.gov jlongdon@azleg.gov lalston@azleg.gov
25 mudall@azleg.gov rbowers@azleg.gov tpace@azleg.gov
26 iblanc@azleg.gov asalman@azleg.gov jmendez@azleg.gov
27 rbolding@azleg.gov drodriguez@azleg.gov rrios@azleg.gov
28 alieberman@azleg.gov kbutler@azleg.gov kbrophymcgee@azleg.gov
29 randrade@azleg.gov cchavez@azleg.gov mquezada@azleg.gov
30 rteran@azleg.gov rmeza@azleg.gov tnavarrete@azleg.gov

 

Use this address and mail a letter to you representative at the capitol explaining your support of #FairTrooperPayToday.

Arizona State Capitol Complex
Attn: (Your Representative)
1700 W Washington St
Phoenix, AZ 85007

 

Write a letter…

You can send a letter to your representatives explaining your support for the troopers and their desire to solve the pay gap issue once and for all, the right way, and ask that we work together to make sure this doesn’t happen again.  

We’ve also created a boilerplate letter below you can copy and paste into a Word document or other software of your choice and add whatever you like to it. You can then print it and send to your representative using the address above.

Sample letter text:

To the Honorable (Your Representative),

I would like to express my steadfast support for the Arizona State Troopers and the Department of Public Safety in their desire to solve the pay disparity issues they currently face and I ask that you work together with them to insure that this issue is resolved correctly this time so that it doesn’t happen again. They’ve recommended a solution that includes a very fair increase so as to not break the budget and a small cost of living adjustment each year to make sure this never happens again. I would very much like your help to get this solution passed during this legislative session. As a voter in your district this issue is important to me.

Thank you for your help in resolving this very serious problem.

Let’s solve #FairTrooperPayToday together… 

Let’s Do It Right This Time!

This problem has been getting worse each year. Stop gaps and half measures have gotten us to this point… It’s time we fixed this problem once and for all and it’s imperative we do it right this time. We can’t just keep kicking the can down the road for others to solve later. The stakes are just too high.

(Days left in this legislative session)

Day(s)

:

Hour(s)

:

Minute(s)

:

Second(s)

News & Updates

Read the DPS 2019 Annual Pay Report here…

Read the DPS 2019 Annual Pay Report here…

If you'd like to know more about the pay issue your Arizona State Troopers and the Department of Public Safety are facing, you can read the facts here. This is the Annual DPS Pay Report, a document of public record detailing the problems. You can also download the...

Read the DPS 2018 Annual Pay Report here…

Read the DPS 2018 Annual Pay Report here…

If you'd like to know more about the pay issue your Arizona State Troopers and the Department of Public Safety are facing, you can read the facts here. This is the Annual DPS Pay Report, a document of public record detailing the problems. You can also download the...

Make a Donation

Events

Campaign Kickoff for #FairTrooperPayToday

Feb 10, 2020 | Digital Media

This is the official kickoff of our #FairTrooperPayToday campaign. We’ll be launching it via social media/email & our website. Be on the lookout for our new intro video, posts, and other digital content and please share them with everyone to help spread the word.

 

 

Are you ready to get involved with #FairTrooperPayToday?

6 + 14 =

Shares
Share This
{"cart_token":"","hash":"","cart_data":""}