Pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), the DPS Local Retirement Board endeavors to ensure the accessibility of its meetings to all persons with disabilities.  If you need an accommodation for the meeting, please contact Leanne Lunsford at (602) 223-2147.  Requests should be made as early as possible to allow time to arrange the accommodation.

Executive Session – The Board may meet in Executive Session at the Department of Public Safety Management Services Conference Room, Suite 260, 2102 W. Encanto Blvd. Phoenix, Arizona for the discussion of any Agenda Item, pursuant to ARS 38-431.03(A) for purposes of discussion or consideration of records, information or testimony exempt by law from public inspection.


Join Microsoft Teams Meeting

  +1 480-536-7328   United States, Phoenix (Toll)

           Conference ID: 897 300 765#

Thursday, February 18, 2021 – 10:00am
Arizona Department of Public Safety
2102 W. Encanto Blvd
Management Services Conference Room, Suite 260
Phoenix, AZ 85009

United States


1.         Approval of minutes of the January 21, 2021 meeting and the February 2, 2021 special meeting.



2.         Accidental Disability Retirement Application:


                        Manuel “Victor” Alvarez



3.         Reconsideration of the Accidental Disability Retirement Application:


                        Dallas Thompson



.4.        New Membership Applications:


Joseph Hyer, effective July 2, 2020 (pre-existing)


Karl Bowers, Ramses Calvillo-Padilla, Gregory Contreras, Christopher Cope, Kamron Debelak, Devin Jenkins, Alexander Leaupepe, Christopher Mitchell, and Christopher White, all effective November 21, 2020 (pre-existing).



Joshua Armstrong, Clayton Beckmann, Robert Benham, Clay Childress, Hector Cruz-Alvarado, Timothy deLaveaga, Ryan Diaz, Seth Krumwied, Guillermo Martan-Avechuco, Michael Sgariglia, Dallin Smith, Kristopher Tapia, and Sarah Young, all effective November 21, 2020.



5.         Deferred Retirement Option Plan (DROP) Applications:


David Daugherty, effective December 31, 2020

Mark Enciso, effective December 31, 2020

John Montoya, effective December 31, 2020

                        David Rush, effective December 31, 2020

                        John Dechant, effective January 31, 2021



6.         Termination of Retirement Benefit:


Robert Stephenson, deceased January 14, 2021

Philip Morgan, deceased January 22, 2021

Frank Shankwitz, deceased January 22, 2021

David Sanchez, deceased January 28, 2021

Wayne Mitchell, deceased February 7, 2021

Chad Howrey, deceased February 9, 2021



7.         Surviving Spouse Benefit:


Delauna Stephenson, surviving spouse of Robert Stephenson, deceased January 14, 2021. (pending receipt of application)


Dorothy Morgan, surviving spouse of Philip Morgan, deceased January 22, 2021.

(pending receipt of application)


Kitty Shankwitz, surviving spouse of Frank Shankwitz, deceased January 22, 2021.

(pending receipt of application)


Ruth Howrey, surviving spouse of Chad Howrey, deceased February 9, 2021.

(pending receipt of application)



8.         Termination of Surviving Spouse Benefit:


Therese Hegarty, deceased January 10, 2021, surviving spouse of James Hegarty



9.         New Business:


                        Pending Legislation

                        Discuss possible special meeting before March meeting.



10.       Old Business:


Recalculation of Normal Retirement benefits for Scott Reutter

David Thomas Re-hearing

                        Barry Stegall



11.         Expenses:


Ryan Rapp & Underwood PLC                       $2,887.00

MCN                                                                  $   460.00

MCN                                                                  $1,920.00




Frank Griego, Chairman
DPS Local Retirement Board
Your Account

Create or login to your account to enjoy discounts and rewards.

Share This
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon
      Available Coupons
      admin20 Get $20.00 off $20 off your cart total.
      adminpromo Get 100% off Free item offered by the administrator
      Unavailable Coupons
      adminsubscriptionretiredfirstpayment Get $120.00 off First payment of retired subscription when paid and added manually.
      cabinfree2days Get $90.00 off Get 2 free nights at the cabin.
      cabinfreeweek Get $315.00 off A free week (7 days) at the associated cabin in one contiguous stay at the time of your choice.
      freebassentry Get 100% off
      golfsponsor Get 100% off Free admission to the tournament with a golf sponsorship.
      jh$25 Get $25.00 off Jonathon Hall reimbursement for shirt he purchased that was too small.
      ldf1month Get $13.00 off Prorate an LDF membership for 1 month discount
      ntcvendorcomp Get 100% off This coupon entitles the user to a free vendor table at the NTC conference.
      retired10 Get $10.00 off
      retired60 Get $60.00 off This discounts your current year renewal $60 since you already pre-paid $60 towards your renewal for this year.
      spmtc Get 20% off Special 20% Off all Motor T's for a limited time!