By PoliceOne Staff

WASHINGTON — The Department of Justice has announced a second annual award that recognizes law enforcement officers for their efforts in community policing.

Attorney General Jeff Sessions announced the Second Annual Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing on Friday, according to a DOJ press release. The award recognizes individual state, local or tribal sworn, rank-and-file LEOs who have demonstrated active engagement with the community in one of three areas: criminal investigations, field operations or innovations in policing.

With each category, an award will be given to LE agencies serving small, medium and large jurisdictions:

• Small: Agencies serving populations of fewer than 50,000

• Medium: Agencies serving populations of 50,000 to 250,000

• Large: Agencies serving populations of more than 250,000

The Department said it is committed to serving the LE community that “keeps this great nation safe and makes it even safer.”

“President Trump and I support law enforcement at all levels – and we always will. We know whose side we are on,” Sessions said. “These men and women serve and protect us from violent crime, dangerous opioids, and criminal gangs.”

The application for nominees can be found here.

Your Account

Create or login to your account to enjoy discounts and rewards.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop