Associated Press ALBANY, NY — Six members of the Yonkers Police Department are sharing an award that honors New York state law enforcement officers who display bravery in the line of duty.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced the recipients of the New York State Police Officer of the Year Award on Monday, when the award was presented during a ceremony at Yonkers City Hall.

The recipients are Capt. Andrew Lane, detectives Kayla Maher and Dawn Lebzelter, and officers Brendan Moore, Thomas Bennett and Vincent Reda.

Last September, Maher and Lebzelter were checking out a suspicious vehicle when a person in the back seat fired a gun at Maher, shooting her in the chin at point-blank range.

The other officers then rescued Maher while exchanging gunfire with the suspect, who was captured and later arraigned on four counts of attempted aggravated murder.

Share This